Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801
Fact, Opinion, and Writing
APA Citation Instructions and Tools
Handout on how to cite MLA style
ACADEMIC HELP 101
Think you can spot "Fake News" from the real deal? Well test your skills with this fun interactive game. Also helps you undersantnd fact vs. opinion.
Quick and Dirty Tips from Grammar Girl
Quick and Dirty Tips creates and distributes digital content that offers short, actionable advice from friendly and informed authorities that will help you succeed at work and in life.
Daily Writing Tips- Archive
Whether you are an attorney, manager or student, writing skills are essential to your success. The rise of the information age – with the proliferation of emails, blogs and social networks – makes the ability to write clear, correct English more important than ever.
Grammerly Online Proofreading
Pros- Catches a lot of things that are missed by standard spell check features. Requires download of Grammerly for Microsoft Office (there is also a package for online content as well, separate donwload)
Cons- Grammar and spelling only; does not check for plagiarism
KHAN Academy Website
This highly recommended online tutoring help is a great way to assist you in a variety of classes if you are struggling. "Grammar"
KHAN Academy YouTube Channel
This link will take you to a variety of YouTube videos designed to help you with a variety of core academic classes
With short and fun videos, taught by great teachers, we help students easily master any subject and achieve their educational goals.
Brightstorm- Tutorial Videos
Our mission at Brightstorm is to be the best place to learn in the world. We believe that great learning starts with great teaching. So, we find the best teachers, film them teaching, and build learning solutions around those great teacher videos.
The introduction of Wolfram|Alpha defined a fundamentally new paradigm for getting knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms and methods.
Bringing broad, deep, expert-level knowledge to everyone… anytime, anywhere.
Online Databases found Through Web Links
RESEARCH- BEST SITES FOR GENERAL RESEARCH
This is a collection of articles that present two sides of an issue. This is a great resource for assignments of argument, persuasion or analysis. Scholarly articles can be found here.
This is a collection of articles that present two sides of an issue. This is a great resource for assignments of argument, persuasion or analysis.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The is a collection of digital reference books that are good sources of background facts and information on many subjects. Including Multi-Cultural Studies, Art, Religion, etc. Scholarly Articles can be found here.
Breaking news and analysis from TIME.com. Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news.
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos
Get login Information from library personnel or connect through FHTC online Library web links after logging in.
Pitcherific- Training tool
Improve Your Public Speaking Skills With Digital Training Tools. Use Pitcherific to prepare your next presentation effectively and present confidently with and without slides.
500 classes available for various skills applicable to many career fields. Set up a KSL Card through the FHTC Library Staff to take classes.
Q: What does "Scholarly Article" or "Peer-Reviewed Article" Mean?
Coulter, P. (2016). Richard G. Trefry library: American public University System. Libanswers. http://apus.libanswers.com/faq/44354
"Scholarly" and "peer reviewed" are often used synonymously, but they are not necessarily the same thing. Peer reviewed articles are always scholarly, but not all scholarly sources are peer reviewed. It may seem confusing, but it makes more sense if you think of "scholarly" as an umbrella term for several different kinds of authoritative, credible sources. These include:
- Peer reviewed journals. These journals primarily exist to publish the research findings of experts in a field. The articles that you see in these journals have been closely scrutinized by a panel of reviewers (also experts in the same field) before they are published.
- Trade or professional journals or magazines. The articles in these periodicals are also written by and for experts, but there is no peer review. The articles aren't limited to research...they may be news, best practice tips or opinion pieces.
- Government Publications Many government agencies publish books, reports, data or statistics. Government researchers, like those who publish in peer reviewed or trade journals, are often experts in their field.
- Books. Many researchers publish books or book chapters.
How can you tell if an article is scholarly? You will have to do some detective-work, but there are some telltale signs:
- Author(s): Ideally, you should rely on information that has been published by an expert, someone who has studied the topic long and hard. Most scholarly publications will list an author's credentials (their degrees -- M.S., Ph.D., Ed.D., etc. - and the institution that they work for) along with his or her name.
- Content: Look for articles that cover a topic in detail (more than just a few pages long, typically). It will probably include some kind of literature review, and discuss the work of other authors, in addition to any original research findings. Make sure it cites its sources (a scholarly article will always have a "references," "bibliography" or "works cited" list).
- Audience: Scholarly articles are written for professionals in the field. You will probably notice a lot of technical language and/or discipline-specific jargon. The tone will be formal.
- Publisher. Visit the journal's website to see what organization publishes it. Professional associations, universities and government agencies are particularly good signs. As you become more experienced, you'll also start to recognize major publishing companies in your field of study (Wiley, Elsevier, Sage, etc.).
- Purpose and scope. When you're on the journal's website, look for an "about" link to learn who the intended audience is and what kind of articles are accepted.
Physical Library Hours:
By Appointment Only (COVID-19 Policy)
Main Campus M123 620-341-1323
If any information needs to be updated or a link needs to be fixed- please e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Take a Survey
FHTC Library Survey
If you have a minute- we would love to hear from you! Please help us improve by filling out this super short survey!
When beginning research on a topic, consider these questions:
What do I want to know about the subject?
What do I already know about the subject?
What kind of sources should I be using?
Here are some tips to help you construct your search:
Do you know the appropriate subject terms to search?
To narrow your topic down, do a subject search and the catalog may provide narrower subtopics.
If your subject search is returning few or no results redo the search as a keyword search.
To combine different terms in one search use "Contains ALL of these words" (keyword searching) or add another search option
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.
Other Library Connections
Su 1:00 PM - MIDNIGHT
M - Th 7:30 AM - MIDNIGHT
F 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Sa 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Resources can be accessed and used in the physical library only.
Located on Kellog Circle of Emporia State University Campus
Emporia Public Library
Su 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
M-Th 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
F 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sa 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Must register for a library card to use databases and check-out material
Other Helpful Libgguides
Take a look at the Libguide "Library 101" by clicking on the link above to see what else the library has to offer!
Books, Financial Aid, Students Support, Job Preperation- this guide will connect you to the resources available through Students Services at FHTC
Emporia Community Connection
What to do, where to eat, and what is going on in and around Emporia!
Report Issues or Problems
If any of the links on this page are not working or if there is a question about the information and content provided- please notify the Director of Information Resources by emailing email@example.com