Skip to main content

How to: APA style- Resources: Encyclopedias

APA How-to

General Information

Encyclopedias:  If multiple editions of the encyclopedia have been published for years, you do not need to include all of the publication information. Include the edition number, publication year, and format (Print or Web). If there are multiple volumes, include the specific volume number that was used.

Alphabetize your reference list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).

Double space all of the citations on your reference page.

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.  

For 2-6 authors: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.

For 6 or more authors: Provide only the first author followed by a comma and et al. For example: Wingert, P., et al.

Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.

If there is no date, use (n.d.).

Do not include a period after the URL.

No retrieval date is needed.

Online Encyclopedia from the Internet

Format

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title or encyclopedia entry. In Encyclopedia Title.

       Retrieved from URL.

Example With Author

Smith, J. (2004). Western painting. In Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

       Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com.

Example with Editor

Smith, J. (2004). Western painting. In B.J. Brown (Ed.), Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

       Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com.

Example with No Author or Editor

Heuristic. (1980). In Merriam-Webster's online dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved from

       http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/heuristic

      

Book Format with Author/Editor

Format

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of encyclopedia entry. Title of Encyclopedia.

       (Editiion, Vol., Pages). City of Publication: Publisher.

Example-Author

Seiber, R. (2002). Visual arts of black Africa. Encyclopedia Americana.

       (11th ed., Vol. 1, pp. 284-288). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

Example-Editor

Seiber, R. (Ed.). (2002). Visual arts of black Africa. Encyclopedia Americana.

       (11th ed., Vol. 1, pp. 284-288). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

Book Format with No Author/Editor

Format

Title of encyclopedia entry. (Year). Title of Encyclopedia. (Edition, Vol., Pages).

       City, State: Publisher.

Example

Visual arts of black Africa. (2002). Encyclopedia Americana. (11th ed., Vol. 1, pp. 284-288).

       Danbury, CT: Grolier.

     

Online Encyclopedia from a Database

Format

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of encylopedia entry. In Title of Encyclopedia.

       City, State:Publisher. Retrieved from URL of entry

Example With Author

Hooker, R. (2004). Early japanese visual arts. In Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

       Retrieved from  http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9399848

Example with Editor

Hooker, R. (Ed.). (2004). Early japanese visual arts. In Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

       Retrieved from  http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9399848

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801