Skip to main content

How to: APA style- Resources: Articles

APA How-to

General Information

Articles from Databases:  In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. At the end of the citation include the DOI number to indicate an online article.  If there is no DOI number assigned to the article, give the URL of the journal, magazine, or newspaper home page.

Double space all of the citations on your reference page.

Alphabetize your reference list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.  

For 2-6 authors: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.

For more than 6 authors: Provide only the first author followed by a comma and et al. For example: Wingert, P., et al.

Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.

Italicize the title of the magazine or journal.  Also italicize the volume number - but do not italicize the issue number.

Page Numbers: Use p. for articles one page long and pp. for articles that are more than one page.  If no page numbers are available, just leave blank.

Do not include a period after the DOI number or URL.

Dates: Use n.d. (no date) when a publication date is not available.

No retrieval date is needed.

What is a professional journal article?

Distinguishing Scholarly from
Non-Scholarly Periodicals
Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information in all subject areas. Access to the large and varied journal collection through L. W. Nixon Library requires the ability to distinguish between the levels of scholarship found both in the print and electronic publications. For the purpose of this guide, types of periodicals have been divided into four separate categories: Scholarly; Substantive News or General Interest; and Popular.

You may limit your search results in the Ebsco and Infotrac online databases by checking the boxes found on their initial search screens labeled "peer-reviewed" or "refereed publications".

Scholarly Periodicals
  • Scholarly journals generally have a serious look. They often contain numerous charts and graphs. They typically do not have glossy pages.
  • Scholarly journals always cite their sources in either footnotes or bibliographies.
  • Articles are written by scholars within specific disciplines.
  • The language used is specific to discipline covered. It assumes some discipline knowledge on the part of the reader.
  • The primary purpose is to report on original research, making it available to the rest of the scholars within a discipline.
  • Many are published by professional associations or universities
Examples of Scholarly Journals
American Economic Review
JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
Journal of Social Work Education
Journal of Labor Research

Non-Scholarly Periodicals
Substantive News or General Interest

  • These may be appealing in appearance. Articles often have numerous photographs.
  • News and general interest periodicals may or may not cite sources used in articles
  • Articles may be written by a variety of staff members, scholars, or freelance writers.
  • The language is geared to interested audiences. No discipline knowledge is assumed.
  • These periodicals are generally produced by commercial publishers.
  • The primary purpose of these periodicals is to provide information to a broad audience.
Examples of Substantive News or General Interest Periodicals
Economist
National Geographic
Scientific American
Forbes
Popular Periodicals
  • Popular periodicals are published in many formats. They tend to be slick with lots of graphics including photographs, and drawings.
  • These publications rarely cite sources of information. Information frequently is second or third hand.
  • Articles tend to be very short with little depth of content and typically written in simple language.
  • Articles are written by staff members or freelance writers.
  • The primary purpose of popular periodicals is entertainment, selling products, and/or promotion of a particular viewpoint. Examples of Popular Periodicals Sports Illustrated Newsweek Good Housekeeping Ebony
Examples of Popular Periodicals
Sports Illustrated
Newsweek
Good Housekeeping
Ebony
L. W. Nixon Library, Butler Co. Community College 8/01
Adapted from the Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology

Journal Article

Format-Print

Last Name, First Initial. (Year). Title of article.  Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), Page(s). 

Example-Print

Hallin, D.C. (2008). Sound bite news. Journal of Communication, 42(2), 5-24.

Format-from Database (Article includes a DOI number)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal. Vol.(Issue),

     Page(s).doi: number

Example-from Database (Article includes DOI number)

Hoar, W.P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(9), 42-44. 

       doi:10.1080/1462220041000

Format-from Database (Article does not include DOI number))

Last Name, First Intitial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue),

     Page(s). Retrieved from URL of journal home page.

Example-from Database(Article does not include DOI number)

Hoar, W.P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(2), 5-24.

     Retrieved from www.thenewamerican.com

Magazine Article

Format-Print

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine

     Page(s).

Example-Print

Lavelle, M. (2008, June 11). Behind the teen birth decline.

     U.S. News & World Report, 63-65.

Format-from Database(Article includes a DOI number)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine,

      Pages.doi:number

Example-from Database(Article includes DOI number)

Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek,

     10-12.doi:10.1057

Format-from Database(Article does not include DOI number)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine,

     pages. Retrieved from URL of magazine home page

Example - From Database(Article does not include DOI number)

Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek,

     10-12. Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com

Newspaper Article

Format-Print

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper,

     Page(s).

Example-Print

Hall, T. (2008, February 24). IQ scores are up. New York Times, pp. F1, F5.

Format-from Database

Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper,

       Page(s). Retrieved from URL of newspaper home page

Example-from Database

Henriques, D.B. (2003, June 29). Still testing Wall St.'s ceiling.

     New York Times, p. B2. Retrieved from www.newyorktimes.com

      

Citation Shortcuts

Be sure to double check the citations once they have been renerated!

EasyBib

Zotero

Citation Machine

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801