Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Connect to Resources- LIBRARY 101: FHTC Online Library

How to access and use library resources!

FHTC Catalog

The FHTC Library Catalog of Physical and Electronic resources.
ID- student
Password- fhtc

Emporia Gazette- Current and Archive

Access Emporia Gazette current content and archives

The Emporia Gazette is a local newspaper for Emporia, Ks. Founded in 1890 by the White family, the paper has had major historical impacts. William Allen White won the 1923 Pulitzer Prize for his editorial "To an Anxious Friend" and a posthumously awarded Pulitzer Prize in 1947 for his autobiography.

Newsbank

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including Emporia Gazette.

Black Life In America- Collection

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media

Films on Demand- Health & Medicine Videos

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Films on Demand- Business & Economics Video Collection

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Films on Demand- Technical & Trade Education Video Collection

Films on Demand: Technical & Trade Education Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Gale- Opposing Viewpoints

This is a collection of articles that present two sides of an issue. This is a great resource for assignments of argument, persuasion, or analysis. Scholarly articles

access

Gale Interactive- Human Anatomy

(3-D Imagery need 64bit computer)
Good detail on body systems and parts. Scholarly resource!
**iPad app Download. Customers can go to the App Store to search for “Gale” or “Gale Interactive” and click to download the app for their product(s). There is no cost to download the app, but users will need to login to the app with their library credentials.
*Computers: Click on Desktop Viewer and Download to use 3-D interactive elements

access

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world

You can access full content from any school computer. Log in with your FHTC e-mail address to access all content off-campus.

Standard Catolg

The standard catalog can be used to look up:

1.) Books available in the physical library

2.) DVD/Videos available in the physical library 

3.) ebooks accessible online  (If a login is requested- contact the Director of Information Resources)

4.)eVideos accessible online  (If a login is requested- contact the Director of Information Resources)

One the left side you can see Subject recommendations that can help you narrow your search.

You can also limit your search by Material Type on the left side. If you want only resources you can access online, use this to limit your results to those materials.

Under the results of your search, you will also see detail about format and availability of the resources.  

 

When you select one particular resource the full detail screen will open. The full detail box has a lot of information!  The most important being:

LOCATION                   CALL NUMBER                     STATUS

This is found in the bar just above Shelf Browse

We can access books that are held by other libraries.  These books can be borrowed, but it takes time to request the shipment.  Knowing your assignment time frame will be important if the book needs to come from another library!

The little icon next to those items is a way in which you can send the information to your phone. When you come into the library to get a book, you have the information you need without having to look it back up!

Additional Materials Not in the Catalog

There are also many magazines (both current and back issues) and newspapers in the library holdings.  

 

Kansas State Library Resources

Kansas State Library Resources

The Kansas State Library provides a variety of resources to all citizens of Kansas. From this link, you can search through the catalog of books available through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) program. There are also a variety of online book platforms, online databases, and archival records for the State of Kansas. All resources are free but may require registration for a State Library Card.

Contact the FHTC library to get signed up for a state library card or to request an ILL book.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is the core research database provide through EBSCO from the Kansas State Library. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.

Explora Multi-Search

Explora Multi-Search is a core research database from the Kansas State Library organized by field of study. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.

Britannica- Academic Encyclopedia

Encyclopedias continue to be the prevailing trusted source for factual information, anchored in authority, depth, and relevancy. Once found in multivolume collections on library shelves and sold door-to-door for many years, encyclopedias offer a breadth of factual knowledge. The online content of Brittanica has continued that tradition.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

This resource provides a variety of Career Guidance options. Whether you are looking for how to brush up a resume, practice interview skills, or looking for nationwide job postings, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center will have the resources for success!

Universal Class

Want to explore a subject outside of your field of studies or brush up on some essential skills without having to pay for a course? Universal Class is your answer! Utilizing a Kansas State Library Card (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students) you can find a wide variety of topics from Excel training to Spiritual Studies. The self-paced courses allow for fitting in extra training in the busy lives of today's students.

Contact the FHTC Library to get you Kansas State Library eCard!

Mango Languages

There is a variety of Language Learning software and apps on the market, but many can be price inhibitive. The Kansas State Library offers Mango languages through the online database collection that can be accessed for free with your KSL eCard (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students). Learn core elements of a variety of languages in a fun interactive platform. Specialized courses for some languages like "Oktoberfest German" are also available.

To get registered for your Kansas State Library (KSL) eCard, contact the FHTC Library.

Other Helpful Web Links

The Web Links

On the top left side of the online catalog screen. When you click on "Web Links" this screen will open:

You can also click on any of the embedded links below.

General Research Links

Health and Science Research Links

Career Resources

Other FHTC Resources

Other Resources

There are several other web links listed. These links are other sources that are found under the tabs listed at the top.  

Little Book Swap Corner

The library has limited space and therefore does not have a Fiction reading section.  However, there is a "Little Book Swap Corner" located on the back shelves of the library for patrons to share books.  Take a book or leave a book!  

There is also a student supply "Swap Shop" as well as a "Brain Break" creativity station with puzzles, games, and some craft supplies for student use.

Report Issues or Problems

If any of the links on this page are not working or if there is a question about the information and content provided- please notify the Director of Information Resources by emailing dgilligan@fhtc.edu
Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801