Skip to main content

A Voting Information Guide: Government Representatives!

This is a voter guide provided by Flint Hills Technical College in the interest of promoting civic education and knowledge.

Register to Vote

Emporia City Commision

From Left: Jon Geitz, Susan Brinkman, Danny Giefer, Becky Jaggard-Smith, and Rob Gilligan

To contact the Commissioners: Call (620) 343-4250

Send correspondence to: P. O. Box 928 Emporia, KS 66801

City Commission Meetings are at 1:30 pm on the 1st Wednesday and 7:00 pm on the 3rd Wednesday in the Municipal Court Room/City Commission Room 518 Mechanic.

Study Sessions are on the 2nd & 4th Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m. in the City Conference Room 516 Mechanic St.

Regular Meetings are televised Live on Channel 2

Rob Gilligan Vice-Mayor rgilligan@emporia-kansas.gov 
Becky Smith City Commissioner bsmith@emporia-kansas.gov
Susan Brinkman City Commissioner sbrinkman@emporia-kansas.gov 
Jon Geitz City Commissioner  jgeitz@emporia-kansas.gov
Danny Giefer Mayor dgiefer@emporia-kansas.gov

 

Commission Seats

Voting Cycle: Position determined by total number of votes

Position 1- 4 year Voting Cycle 1- 1st Place
Position 2- 4 year Voting Cycle 1- 2nd Place
Position 3- 2 year Voting Cycle 1 & 2- 3rd Place
Position 4- 4 year Voting Cycle 2- 1st Place
Position 5- 4 year Voting Cycle 2- 2nd place

Mayoral Representation has long been on a rotational cycle that was followed out of tradition. Due to recent state legislation that forced moving the elections, previously held in April of odd years, to the fall; the decision of length of mayoral selection will be at the commission's discretion.

National Representatives

US House of Representatives- Kansas District 1

 

 Roger Marshall is an American obstetrician and politician.​ https://marshall.house.gov/

312 Cannon House Office Bldg 

Washington, D.C. 20515  
202-225-2715

United States Senators for Kansas

US Senate: Jerry Moran a Republican, has been the junior senator from Kansas since Jan 5, 2011 (next election in 2016). He was previously the representative for Kansas's 1st congressional district (1997-2010). http://www.moran.senate.gov/public/

Room 521, Dirksen Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510       202-224-6521​

US Senate: Pat Roberts  a Republican, has been a senator from Kansas since Jan 7, 1997 (next election in 2020). He was previously the representative for Kansas's 1st congressional district (1981-1996). http://www.roberts.senate.gov/public/

109 Hart Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510       202-224-4774

Lyon County Commission

The duty of the Board of County Commissioners is to represent the County and have the care of the County property, and the management of the business and concerns of the County, in all cases where no other provision is made by law.

Study Sessions are held on Wednesday mornings at 8 a.m. Action Sessions are held on Thursday mornings at 8 a.m. Both meetings take place in Commission Chambers, room 102 of the courthouse.

Scott Briggs: District of Lyon county First sbriggs@lyoncounty.org

Dan Slater: Second District of Lyon County danslater@lyoncounty.org

Rollie Martin: Third district of Lyon County rmartin@lyoncounty.org

State Representative

Representative District 51

Representative District 60:

 

 Mark Schreiber: Mark.Schreiber@house.ks.gov          

Representative District 76: 

 

         

        Eric Smith:    Eric.Smith@house.ks.gov

State Senator District 17: 

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801