FLINT HILLS TECHNICAL COLLEGE MISSION STATEMENT
The mission of Flint Hills Technical College, as an associate degree granting institution, is to provide a diverse community of learners with life-long educational opportunities in preparation for professional and civic responsibilities that meet the needs of society.
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION MISSION
The student will participate in planned experiences directed toward performing health-related activities with precision, safety, and efficiency consistent with concepts and practices of all-encompassing health care entities and disciplines.
EMERGENCY SERVICES
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS
HEALTHCARE ADMINISTRATION
GENERAL NURSING
OTHER
The FHTC Library Catalog of Physical and Electronic resources.
ID- student
Password- fhtc
Access Emporia Gazette current content and archives
The Emporia Gazette is a local newspaper for Emporia, Ks. Founded in 1890 by the White family, the paper has had major historical impacts. William Allen White won the 1923 Pulitzer Prize for his editorial "To an Anxious Friend" and a posthumously awarded Pulitzer Prize in 1947 for his autobiography.
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including Emporia Gazette.
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trade Education Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.
This is a collection of articles that present two sides of an issue. This is a great resource for assignments of argument, persuasion, or analysis. Scholarly articles
access
(3-D Imagery need 64bit computer)
Good detail on body systems and parts. Scholarly resource!
**iPad app Download. Customers can go to the App Store to search for “Gale” or “Gale Interactive” and click to download the app for their product(s). There is no cost to download the app, but users will need to login to the app with their library credentials.
*Computers: Click on Desktop Viewer and Download to use 3-D interactive elements
access
The is a collection of digital reference books that are good sources of background facts and information on many subjects. Including Multi-Cultural Studies, Art, Religion, etc. Scholarly Articles can be found here. Several for medical field of study.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world
You can access full content from any school computer. Log in with your FHTC e-mail address to access all content off-campus.
The Kansas State Library provides a variety of resources to all citizens of Kansas. From this link, you can search through the catalog of books available through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) program. There are also a variety of online book platforms, online databases, and archival records for the State of Kansas. All resources are free but may require registration for a State Library Card.
Contact the FHTC library to get signed up for a state library card or to request an ILL book.
Academic Search Premier is the core research database provide through EBSCO from the Kansas State Library. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.
Explora Multi-Search is a core research database from the Kansas State Library organized by field of study. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.
Encyclopedias continue to be the prevailing trusted source for factual information, anchored in authority, depth, and relevancy. Once found in multivolume collections on library shelves and sold door-to-door for many years, encyclopedias offer a breadth of factual knowledge. The online content of Brittanica has continued that tradition.
This resource provides a variety of Career Guidance options. Whether you are looking for how to brush up a resume, practice interview skills, or looking for nationwide job postings, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center will have the resources for success!
Want to explore a subject outside of your field of studies or brush up on some essential skills without having to pay for a course? Universal Class is your answer! Utilizing a Kansas State Library Card (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students) you can find a wide variety of topics from Excel training to Spiritual Studies. The self-paced courses allow for fitting in extra training in the busy lives of today's students.
Contact the FHTC Library to get you Kansas State Library eCard!
There is a variety of Language Learning software and apps on the market, but many can be price inhibitive. The Kansas State Library offers Mango languages through the online database collection that can be accessed for free with your KSL eCard (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students). Learn core elements of a variety of languages in a fun interactive platform. Specialized courses for some languages like "Oktoberfest German" are also available.
To get registered for your Kansas State Library (KSL) eCard, contact the FHTC Library.
These are found in the online library catalog database. You can access them from any internet enabled device!
HHS>EST>HOT>NSG: Search “Nursing” or “Healthcare”
eBooks- 114/ 57 eVideos-108/ 76
HHS>EST>HOT>NSG: Search “Nursing”
Books/ Videos- 84 / 20
Call # 360-370; 610-620
Magazines- Med Line; Science; Scientific American; National Geographic
Su 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
M-Th 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
F 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sa 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Must register for a library card to use databases and check-out material
Monday-Thursday ---7:45am- 10:00 Pm
Friday--7:45am- 6:00pm
Sunday- 4:00pm- 10:00pm
Resources can be accessed and used in the physical library only.
Located on Kellog Circle of Emporia State University Campus
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.
Connecting FHTC to the Emporia Community
This page is designed to provide Veteran's with various resources for Career Success
This is a voter guide provided by Flint Hills Technical College in the interest of promoting civic education and knowledge.
How to access and use library resources!
a collection of resources on various student services provided by FHTC- Book Store, Financial Aid, Test Prep, Career Services and more!
