Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Division of TECH: Welding Program: General Resources Lists

Research and Resource Connection for the Welding Program

Division Mission Statement

FLINT HILLS TECHNICAL COLLEGE MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of Flint Hills Technical College, as an institution of higher education, is to provide a diverse population with educational opportunities, which enhance personal growth and lead to employment and continuous learning.

DIVISION OF TECHNOLOGY MISSION STATEMENT

Meeting the needs of industry by preparing a quality workforce.

Academic Help 101

Online Library Subscription Services

FHTC Catalog

The FHTC Library Catalog of Physical and Electronic resources.
ID- student
Password- fhtc

Emporia Gazette- Current and Archive

Access Emporia Gazette current content and archives

The Emporia Gazette is a local newspaper for Emporia, Ks. Founded in 1890 by the White family, the paper has had major historical impacts. William Allen White won the 1923 Pulitzer Prize for his editorial "To an Anxious Friend" and a posthumously awarded Pulitzer Prize in 1947 for his autobiography.

Newsbank

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including Emporia Gazette.

Films on Demand- Health & Medicine Videos

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Films on Demand- Business & Economics Video Collection

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Films on Demand- Technical & Trade Education Video Collection

Films on Demand: Technical & Trade Education Videos provide a variety of educational resources on a wide variety of topics in the field. Great for study sessions on specific topics, course material, or general background research.

Gale- Opposing Viewpoints

This is a collection of articles that present two sides of an issue. This is a great resource for assignments of argument, persuasion, or analysis. Scholarly articles

access

Gale Interactive- Human Anatomy

(3-D Imagery need 64bit computer)
Good detail on body systems and parts. Scholarly resource!
**iPad app Download. Customers can go to the App Store to search for “Gale” or “Gale Interactive” and click to download the app for their product(s). There is no cost to download the app, but users will need to login to the app with their library credentials.
*Computers: Click on Desktop Viewer and Download to use 3-D interactive elements

access

Gale eBooks

The is a collection of digital reference books that are good sources of background facts and information on many subjects. Including Multi-Cultural Studies, Art, Religion, etc. Scholarly Articles can be found here. Several for medical field of study.

Black Life In America- Collection

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world

You can access full content from any school computer. Log in with your FHTC e-mail address to access all content off-campus.

Kansas State Library Resources

Kansas State Library Resources

The Kansas State Library provides a variety of resources to all citizens of Kansas. From this link, you can search through the catalog of books available through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) program. There are also a variety of online book platforms, online databases, and archival records for the State of Kansas. All resources are free but may require registration for a State Library Card.

Contact the FHTC library to get signed up for a state library card or to request an ILL book.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is the core research database provide through EBSCO from the Kansas State Library. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.

Explora Multi-Search

Explora Multi-Search is a core research database from the Kansas State Library organized by field of study. Utilizing this search engine, you can find scholarly resources that can be narrowed along the left sidebar of the screen by Full-Text; Peer/Joury Reviewed; Date; Source Type; and more specific search parameters. This is a great starting point for any research paper in any field of study.

Britannica- Academic Encyclopedia

Encyclopedias continue to be the prevailing trusted source for factual information, anchored in authority, depth, and relevancy. Once found in multivolume collections on library shelves and sold door-to-door for many years, encyclopedias offer a breadth of factual knowledge. The online content of Brittanica has continued that tradition.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

This resource provides a variety of Career Guidance options. Whether you are looking for how to brush up a resume, practice interview skills, or looking for nationwide job postings, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center will have the resources for success!

Universal Class

Want to explore a subject outside of your field of studies or brush up on some essential skills without having to pay for a course? Universal Class is your answer! Utilizing a Kansas State Library Card (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students) you can find a wide variety of topics from Excel training to Spiritual Studies. The self-paced courses allow for fitting in extra training in the busy lives of today's students.

Contact the FHTC Library to get you Kansas State Library eCard!

Mango Languages

There is a variety of Language Learning software and apps on the market, but many can be price inhibitive. The Kansas State Library offers Mango languages through the online database collection that can be accessed for free with your KSL eCard (free to all Kansas Residents and FHTC students). Learn core elements of a variety of languages in a fun interactive platform. Specialized courses for some languages like "Oktoberfest German" are also available.

To get registered for your Kansas State Library (KSL) eCard, contact the FHTC Library.

Other Online Databases for Research

Library

Physical Library  Hours: 

MONDAY 7:30 am-4:30 pm No staff- monitored by cameras

tUESDAY & wEDNESDAY  7:30 am-4:30 pm

Staff on site for tutoring and assistance

Thursday 7:30 AM-4:30 PM No staff- monitored by cameras

Friday 7:30 AM- 4:00 PM No staff- monitored by cameras

*Library Hours subject to change based on COVID impacts and Staffing

Main Campus M123    620-341-1323

If any information needs to be updated or a link needs to be fixed- please e-mail: dgilligan@fhtc.edu

Digital/ Online Resources

These are found in the online library catalog database.  You can access them from any internet enabled device!

search “welding”          
              eBooks- 4        eVideos-  22

On the Shelf

The following items can be found in the physical library M123:

 search “welding"         

               Books-13     Videos-23     
               Call# 670-680   
               Magazines- Welding Journal

Take a Survey

Other Library Connections

Emporia Public Library

Su 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
M-Th 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
F 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sa 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Must register for a library card to use databases and check-out material

WAW Library- ESU Campus

Su 1:00 PM - MIDNIGHT
M - Th 7:30 AM - MIDNIGHT
F 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Sa 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Resources can be accessed and used in the physical library only.
Located on Kellog Circle of Emporia State University Campus

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.

Q: What does "Scholarly Article" or "Peer-Reviewed Article" Mean?

Coulter, P. (2016). Richard G. Trefry library: American public University System. Libanswers. http://apus.libanswers.com/faq/44354

"Scholarly" and "peer reviewed" are often used synonymously, but they are not necessarily the same thing.   Peer reviewed articles are always scholarly, but not all scholarly sources are peer reviewed.   It may seem confusing, but it makes more sense if you think of "scholarly" as an umbrella term for several different kinds of authoritative, credible sourcesThese include:

  • Peer reviewed journals.  These journals primarily exist to publish the research findings of experts in a field. The articles that you see in these journals have been closely scrutinized by a panel of reviewers (also experts in the same field) before they are published.   
  • Trade or professional journals or magazines.  The articles in these periodicals are also written by and for experts, but there is no peer review.  The articles aren't limited to research...they may be news, best practice tips or opinion pieces. 
  • Government Publications  Many government agencies publish books, reports, data or statistics.  Government researchers, like those who publish in peer reviewed or trade journals, are often experts in their field.
  • Books.   Many researchers publish books or book chapters.  

How can you tell if an article is scholarly?  You will have to do some detective-work, but there are some telltale signs:

  • Author(s): Ideally, you should rely on information that has been published by an expert, someone who has studied the topic long and hard.    Most scholarly publications will list an author's credentials (their degrees -- M.S., Ph.D., Ed.D., etc. -  and the institution that they work for) along with his or her name.
  • Content:  Look for articles that cover a topic in detail (more than just a few pages long, typically).   It will probably include some kind of literature review, and discuss the work of other authors, in addition to any original research findings.  Make sure it cites its sources (a scholarly article will always have a "references," "bibliography" or "works cited" list). 
  • Audience:  Scholarly articles are written for professionals in the field.  You will probably notice a lot of technical language and/or discipline-specific jargon.  The tone will be formal.
  • Publisher.  Visit the journal's website to see what organization publishes it.  Professional associations, universities and government agencies are particularly good signs.  As you become more experienced, you'll also start to recognize major publishing companies in your field of study (Wiley, Elsevier, Sage, etc.).
  • Purpose and scope.  When you're on the journal's website, look for an "about" link to learn who the intended audience is and what kind of articles are accepted.

Report Issues or Problems

If any of the links on this page are not working or if there is a question about the information and content provided- please notify the Director of Information Resources by emailing dgilligan@fhtc.edu
Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801