Skip to main content

Career Services FHTC Job Posting Board: Job Listings

Links to job boards, Kansas labor information, job descriptions, how to write resumes, cover letters, etc.

FHTC Career Services

Micah Beatty's picture
Micah Beatty
Contact:
620.341.1376

Library

Physical Library  Hours: 

Monday thru Thursday 7:30 am to 6:00 pm

Friday 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday by special arrangement

Main Campus M123    620-341-1323

If any information needs to be updated or a link needs to be fixed- please e-mail: dgilligan@fhtc.edu

REMIND TEXTING ALERTS

Join FHTC remind: To receive messages via text:              

                Text @fhtccareer to 81010 (you can opt out at any time by replying: unsubscribe @fhtccareer)

                Trouble? Try texting @fhtccareer to (620)670-5250

OR to receive messages via e-mail send an e-mail to:

                fhtccareer@gmail.remind.com (to unsubscribe- reply with unsubscribe in subject line)

WHERE TO LOOK FOR JOBS????

Are you not sure where to begin your Job Search?????

Check out the following links and the attached file!!!!

KANSASWORKS.com

US.Jobs - The National Labor Exchange

Indeed

Career Builder

 

 

 

Government Job Search Resources

Visit KansasWorks Home
 
KANSASWORKS - your best source for posting and finding jobs in the state of Kansas. Whether you're looking for that perfect job, that perfect employee or information on an industry or workforce, KANSASWORKS is for you.
 
*Find a job * Find your interests * Post your resume
 
 
 
 Kansas Occupational Outlook provides occupational and industr employment projections that re useful sources of information for planning and preparation of educational and training programs, assessing the need of skilled workers in the future and studying long-range trends in occupational employment.  
 
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
 
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers. 
Explore Careers
Get a better job... Self-assessments... Browse occupations and industries... Employment trends...
Education + Training 
Learn more to earn more... Keep learning... Find schools... Pay for education and training...
Resumes + Interviews 
Resume advice, samples & templates... Cover letters and thank-you notes... Interviews...
Salary + Benefits 
Wage and salary information... Benefits... Relocating...
Job Search 
Plan your search... Browse job sites.. After an offer..
People + Places to Help 
Services near you... State web sites... Unemployment insurance... Salary negotiation...  
 
    Occupational Outlook Handbook
About the handbook: The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.  The Handbook is revised every two years.
 

Fair Employment

Kansas is an employment at will state which means your employer can fire you for any non-discriminatory and/or non-retaliatory reason. However, there are some exceptions to this doctrine.

Kansas law makes it illegal for an employer to discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, disability, ancestry, national origin and age. Genetic screening and testing in the area of employment are also prohibited.

Emporia Gazette Classified Section with Job Postings

THE EMPORIA GAZETTE

Updated Daily!

HELP WANTED

 

Dental Hygiene Assistant

Dental Hygienist-Ulysses, KS

Image result for prairie vista dental

Posted: April 2019

Are you a team player with a great attitude? Do you enjoy a busy, fast-paced day? If so, we are looking for you. We are currently hiring for one or two full-time licensed registered dental hygienists. 

Prairie Vista Dental, in Ulysses, KS, is a state-of-the-art, growing practice. We truly value providing quality care to our patients and to helping each other! Emphasis is placed on personal development through continuing education, team building, and high achievement. 

Please email your resume along with a cover letter describing how you can be an asset to our team to ulyssesdentist@gmail.com.

Networking and Industrial Engineering Positions-Tech Electronics, Inc.

Image result for Tech Electronics, Inc.

Posted: April 2019

Fire and Security Technician (networking) – Kansas City: https://techelectronics.aaimtrack.com/jobs/306244.html

Fire and Security Technician (networking) – Topeka: https://techelectronics.aaimtrack.com/jobs/321504.html

Suppression Technician (industrial engineering) – Kansas City: https://techelectronics.aaimtrack.com/jobs/237890.html

Suppression Technician (industrial engineering) – Topeka: https://techelectronics.aaimtrack.com/jobs/240094.html

Inspector (industrial engineering) – Topeka: https://techelectronics.aaimtrack.com/jobs/321507.html

 

Career Website: www.techelectronics.com/careers

Lyon County Open Positions-Updated Frequently!

Lyon County Kansas

Link is updated as new jobs are posted and old ones are filled

Franklin County Open Positions-Updated Frequently

Image result for franklin county kansas

Link is updated as new jobs are posted and old ones are filled

Power Plant Auxiliary Operator-Ames, Iowa

Image result for city of ames

Posted: March 2019

Welder-Harper Trucks

Image result for harper trucks

Posted: March 2019

Harper Trucks, Inc. is looking for MIG/Wire-feed Welders capable of welding steel and aluminum tubing.  Must be able to set up and adjust welding machines accordingly.  Process involves setting parts up in a jig.  Will also use air tools such as grinders, cutters, and drills.  This is a first shift position, 6a-230p, M-F in Wichita, KS.

For more information or to set up a time to fill out an application and take a welding test, please email John in Human Resources, HR@HarperTrucks.com

 

Heath Family Dentistry-positions in Topeka

Image result for heath family dentistry topeka ks

Posted: March 2019

3 potential openings:

1-- Dental Hygienist

Full Time, 4 days/week (Monday-Thursday)

We are looking for someone to be patient and doctor focused at the same time.  Must be detail oriented and able to flourish in a fast paced environment in North Topeka.  Bilingual preferred but not critical.

Salary position, benefits include: medical insurance, dental benefits, paid vacation, paid holidays, uniforms paid, retirement benefit match.

Must have valid RDH license and be in good standing with the KS Dental Board.

Send resume to topekadentalresume@gmail.com

 

2--Certified Supragingival Scaling Assistant

Full Time, 4 days/week (Monday-Thursday)

We are looking for someone to be patient and doctor focused at the same time.  Must be detail oriented and able to flourish in a fast paced environment in North Topeka.  Bilingual preferred but not critical.

Salary position, benefits include: medical insurance, dental benefits, paid vacation, paid holidays, uniforms paid, retirement benefit match.

Send resume to topekadentalresume@gmail.com

 

3--Dental Assistant

Full Time, 4 days/week (Monday-Thursday)

We are looking for someone to be patient and doctor focused at the same time.  Must be detail oriented and able to flourish in a fast paced environment in North Topeka.  Bilingual preferred but not critical.

Salary position, benefits include: medical insurance, dental benefits, paid vacation, paid holidays, uniforms paid, retirement benefit match.

Send resume to topekadentalresume@gmail.com

Machining Job-Ottawa, KS

Image result for randstad

Posted: March 2019

SOR Machine Shop Job Openings

Image result for SOR

SOR Machine Shop Job Openings

  • 2nd  Shift CNC Machine Operator – Entry Level Full or Part-time
  • 2nd Shift CNC Machinist – 5 years’ experience
  • Machine Shop Maintenance Mechanic (flexible schedule)

·        2nd Shift (M-T-W hours -  4:15pm  to 2 :45am) (Thursday – 3:00pm to 1:30am)

·       OT Available

 Why Employees love working with SOR:

Air Conditioned Production Facility

Lean Manufacturing

9 Paid Holidays

Excellent Benefits Package

Health and Wellness Package

Education Assistance Program

 SOR Controls Group, Ltd. (SCG) is a global leader in the design and manufacture of measurement and control devices under the brands of SOR, Smart Sensors, SETEX Products and SENSOR Sampling Systems and Data Monitoring Systems. SOR Controls Group actively serves all sectors of the process industry with particular strengths in the oil & gas, petrochemical, chemical and power segments. SCG also maintains an engineering and design team capable of providing engineered-to-order systems an

With manufacturing locations in Lenexa, Kansas and Houston, Texas and regional offices in Beijing, Dubai, Chennai and London, SCG supports a network of sales and service personnel capable of addressing customer requirements in any geographic area.

Visit our company website www.sorinc.com – about SOR – Careers also send resumes to careers@sorinc.com

Burnham Basement-Open Positions

Image result for burnham basement

Posted: March 2019

Burnham Basement is an Equal Opportunity Employer.
We are currently seeking Employees to fill Maintenance, Utility and Installers positions. We work a 40 hr work week, Monday thru Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Friday 7:00a.m to 11:00 a.m. Most work is local with travel and some overnight stays. For full time we offer 401-K, Employee Medical Ins., PTO, Attendance Incentive, Vacation and Holiday pay. We are DOT compliant, therefore, it is required to have a current, valid, legal Driver’s License. Contact in person at 314 Neosho St. Emporia, Ks. 620-343-2047 during business hours.

 

Please Contact Kent Grieder:

https://www.burnhambasement.com/

bbasementrepair17@yahoo.com

Open Positions-Presbyterian Manor Emporia

Image result for presbyterian manor

Life Enrichment Assistant – Weekend schedule

Housekeeper – Day shift, 6:00A-2:30pm

Cook – Day and/or evening shifts available

LPN – Evening Shift, 2:00-10:00pm

Posted: March 2019

Welders and Fitter/Welders-Ottawa, KS

Image result for schuff steel

Posted: February 2019

Here is a link to the job posting for Fitter/Welder:  https://schuff.applicantpool.com/jobs/256343.html

 

SUMMARY

Assembles and fits to drawing dimensions of all kinds of structural, plate and mechanical materials into all types of assemblies.  Must be proficient in the full skills of the trade.  Welds a large variety of materials.  Welds in all positions with a high degree of proficiency utilizing full skills of the trade including knowledge of common heat reactions of structural metals, and is certifiable.

                              

ESSENTIAL DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

  • Receives instructions, prints, sketches and work orders.
  • Reads and interprets blueprints and plans the fitting operation.
  • Directs and assists in handling and spreading of material, assembling material into required relationships according to detail drawings; handling and placing detail material in assembly, placing bolts, drift pins and other fastening deceives in proper locations.
  • Lays out work lines or fits up jigs for positioning material when required; checks, squares, and scribes all detail connections.
  • Responsible for work conforming to drawings and notes thereon.
  • Cleans up material by grinding or chipping.
  • Burns and tack welds for assembly purposes. Burns, copes and bevels and straightens material.  Does minor layout. 
  • Spot paints for identification marks.
  • Follow welding procedures.
  • Moves material to and from the work area. Moves welding equipment to material when necessary.  Positions component parts on a table held by a fixture or jib, tacking when required. 
  • Welds on ground level, above ground, and below ground, in any required position.
  • Chips, peens and grinds material to prepare for welding or finish.
  • Welds structural material such as plates, girders, tanks, etc., occasionally involving uncommon structural metals or machine metals under close tolerances of heat application and workmanship.
  • Straightens materials by heat or flame. May perform scarfing.
  • Must take and pass welding tests such as AWS D1.1.
  • Keeps work area clean.
  • Other duties may be assigned.

 

QUALIFICATIONS

To perform this job successfully, an individual must be able to perform each essential duty satisfactorily.  The requirements listed below are representative of the knowledge, skill, and/or ability required.  Reasonable accommodations may be made to enable individuals with disabilities to perform the essential functions.

 

EDUCATION and/or EXPERIENCE

High school diploma or general education degree (GED), and/or 12 months experience.

 

SPECIALIZED KNOWLEDGE & SKILLS

  • Language Skills: Ability to read and interpret documents such as blueprints, safety rules, operating and maintenance instructions, and procedure manuals.  Ability to write routine reports and correspondence.  Ability to communicate effectively with supervisor and other employees of organization.
  • Mathematical Skills: Ability to calculate figures and amounts such as proportions, percentages, area, circumference, and volume.  Ability to apply concepts of basic algebra and geometry.  All applications necessary to adequately perform required tasks.
  • Reasoning Ability: Ability to apply common sense understanding to carry out instructions furnished in written, oral, or diagram form.  Ability to deal with problems involving several concrete variables in standardized situations.
  • Certificates, Licenses, Registrations: Must complete all company required weld tests.

PHYSICAL DEMANDS

The physical demands described here are representative of those that must be met by an employee to successfully perform the essential functions of this job.  Reasonable accommodations may be made to enable individuals with disabilities to perform the essential functions.

While performing this job, the employee is regularly required to stand; use hands to finger, handle, or feel; reach with hands and arms; and talk or hear.  The employee frequently is required to walk and stoop, kneel, crouch, or crawl.  The employee is occasionally required to climb or balance. 

The employee must occasionally lift and/or move up to 50 lbs.  The employee must occasionally push and/or pull a maximum force of 200 ft-lb.  Specific vision abilities required by this job include close vision, distance vision, peripheral vision, depth perception, and ability to adjust focus.  Close mental and visual application required to interpret drawings, layout, plan work, and weld.  Good judgment in determining best method and procedure to be followed.  Able to work on jobs while applying safety rules at all times.

AAP/EEO STATEMENT Schuff Steel is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

 

 

Here is the link to our Welder position:  https://schuff.applicantpool.com/jobs/243227.html

 

SUMMARY

Welds a large variety of materials by FCAW, SMAW, GMAW and SAW.  Welds in all positions with a high degree of proficiency utilizing full skills of the trade including knowledge of common heat reactions of structural metals and is certifiable.

 

ESSENTIAL DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES include the following.  Other duties may be assigned.

  • Receives working instructions.
  • Follows welding procedures.
  • Moves material to and from the work area.
  • Welds on ground level, above ground and below ground, in any required position.
  • Chips peens and grinds material to prepare for welding or finish.
  • Welds structural materials such as plates, sheets, girders, tanks, etc., occasionally involving uncommon structural metals or machine metals under close tolerances of heat application and workmanship.
  • Perform scarfing.
  • Capable of passing welding test in accordance to AWS D1.1.
  • Keeps work area clean.

QUALIFICATIONS

To perform this job successfully, an individual must be able to perform each essential duty satisfactorily.  The requirements listed below are representative of the knowledge, skill, and/or ability required.  Reasonable accommodations may be made to enable individuals with disabilities to perform the essential functions.

 

EDUCATION and/or EXPERIENCE

High school diploma or general education degree (GED), and/or 12 months of stable work experience.  Must pass required weld test.

 

SPECIALIZED KNOWLEDGE & SKILLS

  • Language Skills: Ability to read and interpret documents such as safety rules, operating and maintenance instructions, and procedure manuals.
  • Mathematical Skills: Ability to add, subtract, multiply and divide in all units of measure.
  • Reasoning Ability: Ability to apply common sense understanding to carry out instructions furnished in written, oral, or diagram form.  Ability to deal with problems involving several concrete variables in standardized situations.
  • Certificates, Licenses, Registrations: None

PHYSICAL DEMANDS

The physical demands described here are representative of those that must be met by an employee to successfully perform the essential functions of this job.  Reasonable accommodations may be made to enable individuals with disabilities to perform the essential functions.

While performing this job, the employee is regularly required to stand; use hands to finger, handle, or feel; reach with hands and arms; and talk or hear.  The employee frequently is required to walk and stoop, kneel, crouch, or crawl.  The employee is occasionally required to climb or balance. 

The employee must occasionally lift and/or move up to 50 lbs.  The employee must occasionally push and/or pull a maximum force of 200 ft-lb.  Specific vision abilities required by this job include close vision, distance vision, peripheral vision, depth perception, and ability to adjust focus.  Close mental and visual application required to interpret drawings, layout, plan work, and weld.  Good judgment in determining best method and procedure to be followed.  Able to work on jobs while applying safety rules at all times.

AAP/EEO STATEMENT Schuff Steel is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Caregiver-Hartford, KS

Pam Thuma is looking for caregivers of an older individual with Alzheimer's.  All shifts are available for $10/hour.

Please call her at 620.757.0295 if interested

IT-Technical Support Specialist I

Image result for murphy hoffman company

Posted: January 2019

Application instructions: https://sjobs.brassring.com/tgwebhost/jobdetails.aspx?partnerid=26263&siteid=5315&AReq=6073br

 

Murphy-Hoffman Company (MHC), is North America’s largest Kenworth truck dealership and leasing group. As MHC continues to grow, we have an opening for a Technical Support Specialist I. The role of the Technical Support Specialist I is to provide superior support with rapid problem solving and resolution to end users within MHC for IT related issues.  The Technical Support Specialist I is responsible for the setup and configuration of all hardware and software at over 100 locations throughout the United States.  This includes third party applications, mobile devices, PCs, software, and other peripherals.  Responsible for making sure that all support calls are properly documented within the ticketing system.  Accountable for identifying issues that require escalation and executing those as designed.

Other opportunities includes daily tasks with the challenging responsibilities of maintaining successful daily inventory of over 3,000 combined devices.  Participates in projects as assigned by management.  The opportunities to travel and perform hands on duties as needed.

Qualifications

 

CompTIA A+ certified or pursuing the certification completion.
 

  • Excellent oral and written communication skills.
  • Excellent project management skills.
  • Excellent Windows and Microsoft office Skills.
  • Demonstrated understanding and technical proficiency with Windows Server, Active Directory, and Current Windows Environments

Pay range: $39,000-$45,000 annually
 

 

Benefits

 

  • Competitive Salary
  • Medical, Dental and Prescription Insurance
  • Disability and Life Insurance
  • Paid Time Off program
  • 401k and Profit Sharing with Employer Match
  • Flexible Spending Account
  • Internal Promotion Opportunities
  • Tuition Reimbursement Program
  • On the Job Training

About Us

 

MHC is an expansion of the original company, Ozark Kenworth, Inc. Ozark Kenworth started in Springfield, Missouri, in January 1975. Opening for business without a Parts or Service department and only three employees in a temporary facility. From there, the company grew and expanded.

MHC is now a multi-state network of full-service diesel truck dealerships, leasing and rental operations, transport refrigeration locations, and a finance company which offers a complete array of finance and insurance services.

We believe in fostering an environment that helps employees realize their full potential – a place where you can grow as a person and a professional.

EEO

Bus Drivers-USD 253

Image result for usd 253

Posted: January 2019

Applicants can see more details and apply by visiting the link below:

http://www.usd253.org/career-opportunities/

Control Panel Technician and Startup Technician Positions

Image result for northwind ts

Posted: January 2019

Control Panel Technician

Position responsible for control panel fabrication including panel layout, wiring and testing, using electrical drawings and safely operating tools. Must have good work ethic and technical aptitude.  Associates degree or certificate from electrical, controls or related technical program preferred; experience in a related field may be substituted for formal education if relevant to the position.

NorthWind offers competitive wages, health insurance, 401(k) and other benefits.

 https://www.northwindts.com/careers/

To apply, send resume to careers@northwindts.com or pick up application at NorthWind Technical Services office located at 2751 Antelope Road, Sabetha, KS, (785) 284-0080.

NorthWind is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Yellowstone Summer Jobs and Internships

Image result for yellowstone national park

Posted: January 2019

Electrical Helper

Image result for bhi energy

Posted: January 2019

BHI Energy, a contractor at Wolf Creek Nuclear Station, is looking for someone  to fill an open electrical apprentice level position . Send resumes to Billy Guthrie: billy.guthrie@bhienergy.com

 

Electronics Assembler

Image result for mid continent controls

Posted: January 2019

Benton House Cook Positions

Image result for benton house

Posted: December 2018

Benton House of Lenexa, a senior living community in Lenexa, Kansas, is looking for a dynamic person with a heart to serve seniors for the position of cook. Job duties include, but are not limited to, meal preparation, service and clean up; cleaning the kitchen per the assigned schedule and assisting with food preparation and service for special events. Applicants must have experience cooking for large groups of people and must be able to successfully pass a background check, drug screen and other pre-employment testing.

This is an ideal culinary job for someone who wants a good work/life balance because on most nights, you will be off work by 8 pm.

In order to be considered, please apply online by visiting our website, https://www.bentonhouse.com/careers/.

Summer Staff Positions-Sky Ranch-Oklahoma, Texas, Colorado

Image result for sky ranch oklahoma

Posted: October 2018

Desktop-LAN Support Tech I

 

Computer Medics of Kansas City

Posted: October 2018

Computer Medics® of Kansas City, LLC

www.cmokc.com

Interested candidates should email Robert Johnson ceo@cmokc.com

 

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801