Skip to main content

Career Services FHTC Job Posting Board: Career Resources

Links to job boards, Kansas labor information, job descriptions, how to write resumes, cover letters, etc.

More Job Preperation Help

Fair Employment

Kansas is an employment at will state which means your employer can fire you for any non-discriminatory and/or non-retaliatory reason. However, there are some exceptions to this doctrine.

Kansas law makes it illegal for an employer to discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, disability, ancestry, national origin and age. Genetic screening and testing in the area of employment are also prohibited.

Library

Physical Library  Hours: 

Monday thru Thursday 7:30 am to 6:00 pm

Friday 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday by special arrangement

Main Campus M123    620-341-1323

If any information needs to be updated or a link needs to be fixed- please e-mail: dgilligan@fhtc.edu

Career Information

Careers Internet Database

To access this database while on campus click on the link below, then "Non- Members click here."  

This database provides information about a wide variety of jobs, an interest inventory to help you decide what kind of job is right for you, a resume creator, job projection information and much more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The nation's premier source for career information.  The profiles featured here cover hundred of occupations and describe what they do, the work environment, how to train for the job, the pay and more.  Each profile also includes employemnt projections for the 2010-20 decade.

O*Net OnLine

Your tool for career exploration and job analysis.  O*Net OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, students, researchers, and more.  Find occupations by industry, field of work, by the tools a profession uses and more. Also includes information about Green Jobs and jobs with high levels of growth.

MedLine Plus

A government health website. To find career information search on "health occupations" or the specific name of the area you are interested in.

Learning Express

One of the databases supported by the State Library of Kansas.  Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Career One Stop

Your pathway to career success; providing tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

 

 CareerBliss

 

A website that is a free career community that empowers job seekers with jobs, reviews, and salaries, along with hundreds of great career advice articles.

 

 Job Sites that fit your needs

 

A resource that will help you quickly find the job listing site that best suits your needs. The free resource features a comprehensive guide, expert ratings, data-driving comparisons, and unbiased reviews to help you find jobs and start your career.

 

Green Career Resouces


Green and sustainability jobs and career resouces article from the National Career Development Association, Dec. 1, 2013.Article defines green jobs and provides many links to additional job resources.

 

Subject Guide

Micah Beatty's picture
Micah Beatty
Contact:
620.341.1376

Life Long Learning!

Want to brush up on other skills? Computer, resume, interviewing, customer service or other similar fields- Check out the free online courses available to you!  

Go to > Web Links  

Click on >All Magazines,Journals, and Encyclopedia  

Click on >Universal Class 

Search for your interests or hobbies!

Want to brush up on your language skills that might help in your field of study? Check out the free online language courses available to you (including "Talk Like a Pirate!")!  

Go to > Web Links  

Click on >All Magazines,Journals, and Encyclopedia  

Click on >Mango Languages 

Search for the language that interests you!

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801