Skip to main content

Career Services FHTC Job Posting Board: Job Listings

Links to job boards, Kansas labor information, job descriptions, how to write resumes, cover letters, etc.

FHTC Career Services

Library

Physical Library  Hours: 

Monday thru Thursday 7:30 am to 6:00 pm

Friday 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday by special arrangement

Main Campus M123    620-341-1323

If any information needs to be updated or a link needs to be fixed- please e-mail: dgilligan@fhtc.edu

REMIND TEXTING ALERTS

Join FHTC remind: To receive messages via text:              

                Text @fhtccareer to 81010 (you can opt out at any time by replying: unsubscribe @fhtccareer)

                Trouble? Try texting @fhtccareer to (620)670-5250

OR to receive messages via e-mail send an e-mail to:

                fhtccareer@gmail.remind.com (to unsubscribe- reply with unsubscribe in subject line)

WHERE TO LOOK FOR JOBS????

Are you not sure where to begin your Job Search?????

Check out the following links and the attached file!!!!

KANSASWORKS.com

US.Jobs - The National Labor Exchange

Indeed

Career Builder

 

 

 

Government Job Search Resources

Visit KansasWorks Home
 
KANSASWORKS - your best source for posting and finding jobs in the state of Kansas. Whether you're looking for that perfect job, that perfect employee or information on an industry or workforce, KANSASWORKS is for you.
 
*Find a job * Find your interests * Post your resume
 
 
 
 Kansas Occupational Outlook provides occupational and industr employment projections that re useful sources of information for planning and preparation of educational and training programs, assessing the need of skilled workers in the future and studying long-range trends in occupational employment.  
 
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
 
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers. 
Explore Careers
Get a better job... Self-assessments... Browse occupations and industries... Employment trends...
Education + Training 
Learn more to earn more... Keep learning... Find schools... Pay for education and training...
Resumes + Interviews 
Resume advice, samples & templates... Cover letters and thank-you notes... Interviews...
Salary + Benefits 
Wage and salary information... Benefits... Relocating...
Job Search 
Plan your search... Browse job sites.. After an offer..
People + Places to Help 
Services near you... State web sites... Unemployment insurance... Salary negotiation...  
 
    Occupational Outlook Handbook
About the handbook: The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.  The Handbook is revised every two years.
 

Fair Employment

Kansas is an employment at will state which means your employer can fire you for any non-discriminatory and/or non-retaliatory reason. However, there are some exceptions to this doctrine.

Kansas law makes it illegal for an employer to discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, disability, ancestry, national origin and age. Genetic screening and testing in the area of employment are also prohibited.

Emporia Gazette Classified Section with Job Postings

THE EMPORIA GAZETTE

Updated Daily!

HELP WANTED

 

Outage Jobs-Wolf Creek

Image result for bhi

Posted: May 2019

Outage start date will be September 21st, hire date could be early to late August.

Send resumes to Terrie: 

testraw@wcnoc.com

terrie.strawder@bhienergy.com

UTILITY LABORER/FIREWATCH (JM)

15.75 – Straight time

23.63 – Overtime

 

Helper 1

16.25– Straight time

24.38– Overtime

Helper 2

20.00– Straight time

30.00– Overtime

Helper 3

23.75– Straight time

35.63– Overtime

 

  1.        All Contractor Personnel performing Work on Site must meet the following minimum requirements prior to performing any Work. 
  2.          Successfully complete Contractor’s nuclear compliance training on SCWE.
  3.          Successfully complete Contractor’s FME training.
  4.          Successfully complete Contractor’s human performance training.
  5.          Be able to lift and carry a minimum of 50 pounds.
  6.          Be able to read, and adhere to, the Procedures, manuals and work instructions.
    1.        All Contractor Personnel prior to performing any Work in the Protected Area must meet the following minimum requirements. 

(i)                  Successfully complete PAT, FFD training, and, if applicable, radiation worker (RAD) training in accordance with Appendix JContractor Personnel requiring UA to WCGS will be screened in accordance with NEI 03-01, latest revision including the following:

A.  Background Investigation

B.  Psychological Assessment

C.  Drug/Alcohol Screen

D.  Behavioral Observation Program

E.  Criminal History Checks

(ONSITE PERSONNEL SPECIAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS);  and

Successfully be granted UA in accordance with Appendix J (ONSITE PERSONNEL SPECIAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS);

 

  1.        Applicable Contractor Personnel performing Work on Site must meet the following minimum requirements:
  2.          Successfully complete Outage Optimization Training if performing Work during a Refuel Outage.
  3.          Successfully complete any Site-specific task-specific training specified in the Purchase Order.
  4.          Hold the Qualifications.
  5.          Have the equivalent experience level of a journeyman in the specific craft unless stated otherwise,

 

UTILITY LABORER/FIRE WATCHES

Utility Laborer/Firewatch (JM)*:  Individual must possess the knowledge and skills to perform various tasks including, but not limited to, the following:

  •          Performing Various Housekeeping Functions, Such as Sweeping, Mopping, Dusting, etc.
  •          Performing Escort, Fire-Watch, and Confined Space Duties

 

HELPERS

Individuals provide support for the various crafts. Such personnel do not meeting the Journeyman-stated experience requirements, but, other than a Helper 1, they have the basic skills and knowledge of the associated Journeyman classification.  They take direction form a Journeyman and supervision.  Helper positions can be filled from personnel in the Utility Laborer/Fire Watch classification that demonstrate the ability to assist personnel in the associated Journeyman classifications.  The Helper position will assist various crafts by carrying tools and materials.

Helpers are classified by the applicable craft and by years of such experience:

(Craft) Helper 1:  Entry level no or less than one (1) year previous work experience in the applicable craft.

(Craft) Helper 2:  One (1) year of work experience in the applicable craft.

(Craft) Helper 3:  Two (2) or more years of work experience in the applicable craft

‚ÄčTerrie Strawder - Blacketer

Admin.

testraw@wcnoc.com

terrie.strawder@bhienergy.com

Fusion Alley, Ottawa- Maintenance Technician

JOB TITLE: Maintenance Technician

LOCATION: Ottawa, KS

This job will primarily be centered around maintenance, upkeep, and troubleshooting of our bowling equipment and lanes, but will also involve our kitchen equipment for the restaurant.

Interested parties should send their resume to fusionalleyottawa@gmail.com

 

Posted: July 2019

Boelte-Hall- Bindery Operator

JOB TITLE: Bindery Operator

LOCATION: Kansas City metro area printing firm is looking for qualified bindery operators with a minimum of four years’ experience with bindery equipment, including folders, cutters, die cutting and mailing. Interested and qualified individuals should send their resume to: apply@boelte.com or fill out an application at:

4710 Roe Parkway

Roeland Park, KS 66205

 

Posted: July 2019

JOB TITLE: Warehouse Supervisor

LOCATION: Kansas City metro

Interested and qualified individuals should send their resume to: apply@boelte.com or fill out an application at:

4710 Roe Parkway

Roeland Park, KS 66205

 

Duties include:

• Loading and unloading truck

• Verifying information, counts, weights and/or measures on incoming and outgoing shipments against bills of lading

• Packaging outbound shipments according to specifications

• Ensuring due dates are met

• Working with UPS Worldship and FedEx

Benefits include paid holidays, health insurance, 401(k)

 

Posted: July 2019

Eagle Communications Open Positions

Link is updated as new jobs are posted and old ones are filled

https://eaglecom.net/careers

Rock Creek Of Ottawa- Nursing Positions

Posted: July 2019

City of Ottawa- Electric Production Operator I

Electric Production Operator I

JOB TITLE: Electric Production Operator I

LOCATION: Ottawa, KS

PAY RANGE: Grade 9 - $17.43 to $24.41

Complete On-Line Application at www.HRePartners.com.

Position Summary: The City of Ottawa, Kansas is recruiting for an Electric Production Operator I.  The Electric Production Operator I performs duties in the City's electric generation and purchasing of power. The employee in this position is responsible for maintaining continuous and stable operation of the generators in the plant while monitoring the City's connections with other electric utility systems and delivering the necessary electrical power to the City of Ottawa’s customers. The Electric Production Operator I will monitor equipment operations for possible malfunctions and take corrective action should a malfunction occur.

Posted: July 2019

Evergy- Design Services Intern

 

Design Services Intern

JOB TITLE: Design Services Intern

REQUISITION: OPE003K

LOCATION: Emporia Service Center

PAY RANGE: $16.00 - $20.00 / hour  

 

Apply by clicking this link: https://westarenergy.taleo.net/careersection/westar_external_career_section/jobsearch.ftl?lang=en&portal=8360483464 and either searching for Design Services Intern or scrolling down.

Posted: June 2019

Scientific Games- Field Service Tech I

 

JOB TITLE: Field Service Tech I

LOCATION: Topeka or Kansas City

Apply by clicking this link https://www.scientificgames.com/careers/all-jobs/ and search for IRC21786 or Field Service Tech I.

Posted: June 2019

Franklin County Open Positions

 

Link is updated as new jobs are posted and old ones are filled

http://www.franklincoks.org/Jobs.aspx?CID=98

Cooks-Radius Brewing Company

Image result for radius brewing

Posted: June 2019

Radius Brewing Company is hiring experienced Cooks! The Cooking Staff at Radius is responsible for prepping ingredients, preparing menu items and specialty dishes, and putting them all together with composed plating. The ability to multitask in a fast paced environment while effectively communicating with your teammates is a must! Knife skills and prior kitchen experience are a plus. Food and drink discounts come with the job! Apply today at Radiusbrewing.com/employment!

Lyon County Open Positions-Updated Frequently!

Lyon County Kansas

Link is updated as new jobs are posted and old ones are filled

Kelly Services Jobs-Wamego, KS

Image result for kelly services

Posted: June 2019

Employer: Kelly Services

Location: Caterpillar in Wamego KS

Employment status: Full-time, contingent

 

Shifts:

1st, 5am – 330 pm

2nd, 330 pm – 2 am

 

Starting pay:

Stock Clerk / Assembler / Fabrication / Material Handler

1st shift starting rate: $12.75/hour, possible 90 day bump to $14.25/hour

2nd shift starting rate: $13.70/hour possible 90 day bump to $15.20/hour

Automotive Technician

Image result for williams automotive

Posted: May 2019

 

Now Hiring - Automotive Technicians

ASE Certification with 3 years experience required.

Pay based on experience. Base pay $22.00 with additional bonuses and incentives.

Blue Cross Blue Shield Health/Life/Disability

Air Conditioned, comfortable shop!

 

Come join our Team!!

 

Apply at Williams Automotive

3105 W. 6th Ave

Emporia, KS 66801

Graphic Designer

Image result for emporia gazette

Posted: May 2019

Do you have a creative brain? We want it! The Emporia Gazette is looking for a full-time, motivated Graphic Designer to join our dynamic production team.

Qualifications and Skills
• Knowledge in Adobe InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator is required
• Able to work in a fast-paced, team environment
• Must have a strong work ethic, attention to detail and well organized

We offer an excellent benefits package, as well as competitive pay. Resumes will be accepted until position is filled. Selected applicants will be contacted for an interview. Please, no phone calls.

Please send resumes to: Kelsey Quintana, kelsey@emporia.com, subject: Graphic Design position, or The Emporia Gazette, c/o Production Manager, P.O. Drawer C, 517 Merchant St., Emporia, KS 66801.

Equal Opportunity Employer

CNC Programmer and Designer

Image result for dpp manufacturing emporia ks

Posted: May 2019

Email resumes to dppmfg@gmail.com and call 620-340-7200 for additional information

Boiler Operator-KU; Maintenance Worker-KU

Temp RDH Positions

Posted: May 2019

Temp and Permanent placement jobs available for KS/MO licensed Dental Hygienists.

Summer jobs available in the KC metro, Lawrence, St Joseph area for vacation subs.  

Choose your work days based on your availability.

Call/text Michelle Elrod Atchity at 913-685-1466 to join the Healthcare Staffing Solutions Temp Registry.

No fee to join the registry, the fees are paid by the dental offices for temp or permanent placements.

Email your resume to : info@hcstaffingsolutions.com or register via our website at: www.hcstaffingsolutions.com

Apprentice Electrician-Torgeson Electric, Topeka

Image result for torgeson electric

Posted: May 2019

Apprentice Electricians will work around skilled electricians on job sites as you learn your new trade. Some traveling required to job sites in northeast Kansas.

Pay

Based on experience. (Range $10-$14+)

Hours

40 or more per week

Transportation

Travel allowance provided, if required

Lodging

Provided if Required

Required Experience

None

Benefit Package

Paid time off, Paid holidays, 401K option with employer match, ESOP, and Health/Dental insurance.

Applicant must be able to pass a pre-employment, (fit to work physical) and drug testing. In addition, must have applicable hand tools as large items will be provided on site(s).

ABC Apprenticeship Class

Other Requirements

Follow safety policies and procedures at all times. PPE required for all duties.

Duties and Tasks

You will receive on the job training from knowledgeable electrician that will teach you the skills needed to succeed in the electrical industry.

Training would include – Underground rough in, interior wall and above ceiling conduit installation, pulling of circuits and feeder, installation of light fixtures and large gear and troubleshooting.

OSHA 10 required (reimbursement available upon completion)

Fill out daily pre-job safety plan for the work that will be performed

Apply online at:

https://www.torgesonelectric.com/apply-now/

Production Artist-Phenix Label, Olathe

Image result for phenix label

Posted: May 2019

Conveniently located in Olathe, Kansas (at 119th and Blackbob), Phenix has led our industry since 1896. We have a history of excellence with award-winning teams who know what they're doing and have fun doing it. Check us out at www.phenixlabel.com.

Position Summary:

The Production Artist is responsible for converting and translating customer submitted artwork into a press compatible format. The Production Artist maintains an effective and efficient workflow from the time the artwork is scheduled through the proofing stage to the final plate ready file. The artist maintains direct and open communication with necessary teams regarding the status of all working jobs. 

Essential Functions:

·  Manipulate or recreate customer artwork using Illustrator/Photoshop, so that printed materials can be produced according to production requirements.

·  Output production proofs, understanding separations depicting final layout for customer approval.

·  Send all files according to the requirements of the press it will run on; including press marks, color correction, trap, applying press tolerances and distortion.

·  Make independent judgment in graphic assembly of working art files; analyzing needs and product requirements to create a final press-ready file.

·  Setup files staying within strict Branding requirements.

·  Make recommendation to customer submitted artwork based on Flexographic/Digital printing within Company capabilities.

·  Maintain detailed technical knowledge of Company art and manufacturing capabilities in order to make the best recommendations for art designs and departmental procedures.

·  Maintain a working knowledge of all equipment and software used within the department.

·  Maintain an effective comprehension of calibration, profiling and workflow procedures.

·  Perform routine maintenance on all departmental equipment.

·  Proofread all work including customer proofs and final plate files.

·  Maintain accuracy on all orders so that orders flow efficiently and effectively; communicating all art changes to affected groups to ensure correct and timely alterations in tooling, inks, and materials.

·  Attend and actively participate in department meetings.

·  Any other tasks as assigned by manager. 

Skills and Qualifications:

·  Associates Degree in Graphic Design/Printing Technology or equivalent combination of education and graphic art experience required.

·  High school diploma / GED / or equivalent required.

·  Strong work ethic, time management, organizational and troubleshooting skills, positive attitude, and detail-orientation required.

·  Excellent oral and written communication skills and strong mathematical and analytical skills required.

·  English language proficiency required.

·  Proficiency in Macintosh and PC environments with strong working knowledge of graphic design programs and Excel required.

·  Adobe Products OS X / Windows required.

·  Ability to work independently with minimal guidance required.

·  Ability to interact effectively with a wide variety of people, maintaining flexibility, objectivity, professionalism and a capacity to handle multiple tasks simultaneously required.

·  Previous production art experience/exposure in flexographic & digital printing environment preferred.

·  Esko Labels & Packaging Software OS X / Windows preferred. 

Work Environment and Physical Demands:

This job is performed indoors in a temperature and humidity controlled environment.  Job tasks are performed in close proximity to other people and, when entering the adjacent manufacturing plant, include exposure to strobe lights, sounds and noise levels that may be distracting.  The employee is occasionally required to stand, stoop, walk and bend. The employee must frequently sit, talk, listen, and lift and/or move up to 15 pounds. Specific vision abilities include, but are not limited to, close vision and a strong ability to distinguish colors and shades. Requires use of hands to handle, control or feel objects and operate computer and other office-related equipment

Welders and other positions-Fredonia, KS

Business Associate-Ottawa or Emporia

Summer Job-Outside Installer-Manko Windows

Full Time Teller-ESU Federal Credit Union

Image result for esu fcu

Posted: May 2019

 

Please email resume to Joni Vaughn at jvaughn@esfcu.com

DCF Positions-State of Kansas

Open Positions-Presbyterian Manor Emporia

Image result for presbyterian manor

Certified Medication Aide 2:00-10:30pm

Certified Nursing Assistant Various shifts available

Dining Services Assistant – Various shifts available

Cook – Various shifts available

 

Benefits available:

Paid time off – both full-time and part-time staff

Educational assistance

Loan forgiveness program

Flexible scheduling

Posted: May 2019

Interested applicants can apply at www.empooriapresbyterianmanor.org

Library Hours: 7:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday thru Thursday; 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday Located at 3301 W. 18th Ave. Emporia, Kansas 66801